for two years. -less often, now

Venus Transit

Gah! I meant to post about this yesterday as a heads up, and only remembered to do it now as this historic event is actually happening. Hopefully some of you will be able to catch it in time!

Venus is moving across the solar disc RIGHT NOW (between the Sun & the Earth so we see it), and it won’t happen again for another 105 years.

If you don’t have a telescope with a solar filter, or some hardcore sun-watching glasses – check out the various live streams of the event here:¬†http://venustransit.nasa.gov/webcasts/nasaedge/

Obviously this is not LEGO related, but you all know I’m a devout lover of science and space! So, check it out!
Here are some screenshots from the feeds I’m watching:


9 responses

  1. So cool! Thank you for posting these! I got to see it…my Dad has welding goggles, and there’s a tiny dot visable when you look through those! :D

    June 5, 2012 at 9:34 pm

  2. Denny Gursky

    of course it is LEGO-related! check out my solar scope built with legos:
    https://plus.google.com/u/0/photos/101438615386608320810/albums/5721121206939032593

    my story for the transit: https://plus.google.com/u/0/s/%23dgvt2012

    June 6, 2012 at 3:27 am

  3. Ah, my Lego man!
    I hope you’re going to ‘Lego’ the Transit somehow!
    I’ll be waiting for it!
    Thanks for providing much mirth and wonderment…as always.

    This was my ‘Transit’ experience!
    http://shitsugane.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/day-eighty-five-co-operative-forces/

    June 6, 2012 at 3:49 am

  4. Pingback: Day eighty-five; Co-operative forces « Absolutely Random – Shitsugane

  5. Pingback: Venus Transit « muses of the moment

  6. Thank you so much for giving those of us who could not see “love” passing by witness it, albeit second hand. Knowing that it is not gone forever from showing itself so vividly is good to know. I will be 166 years old when I get my next chance to see this particular route between the sun and us.. As much as things change and as quickly as they do so, perhaps I will still be around, a feisty old broad, still blogging (God help us all!). As Kolembo asks – a Lego version of your experience would be wonderful. I look forward to seeing that (notice how I am assuming you will do it? :lol: ) I enjoy your blog, have checked the “follow” box and look forward to visiting as much as possible.

    June 6, 2012 at 11:08 am

  7. Hi,

    I know it’s off topic on this article but check this out

    June 15, 2012 at 3:31 am

  8. Legodude22100

    I’m sorry, but you really need to update more!I’m getting so bored of this site.

    August 5, 2012 at 12:03 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 913 other followers