for two years. -less often, now

Series 4 Minifigs

Since I suck at feeling the packages in stores (if there are any left), I have been leaving my fate up to the people at the LEGO distribution plant here in the US. I did fairly well with series 2. Series 3 was great. But my series 4 take left a little to be desired.
I ordered 16 from their website, which is the maximum I can order (at once anyway).
(Just a side note – I think it’s complete BS that I can’t choose the ones I want. That system has to stop.)

I got a few i wanted, but definitely didn’t get a bunch i really wanted.

I got:
garden gnome
rock star x2 (wanted this for the guitar)
surfer chick
Viking (yes! this one is awesome!)
frankenstein
hockey player
sailor x2
soccer guy
wolfman x3 (srsly, lego?)
radiation suit guy x2 (wanted this one)
ice skater

I really wanted the musketeer (2 or 3 of them), the painter, and the mad scientist as well.

Some people are really good at feeling the packages, but the only obvious one I could feel was the radioactive suit, because of it’s big square-ness. The rest – who knows. I guess I’ll go take a few chances at Toys’R’Us or something.

Hope you guys made out a little better than I did!

28 responses

  1. Do you know about the bump codes? Google “LEGO minifigure series 4 bump codes”.

    April 23, 2011 at 10:06 pm

  2. Feeling the bags is about a million times faster for determining what’s inside than the bumps, which may not be accurate or even present. Isolate the unique piece in the bag to make it easier to tell what you’re feeling.

    Still, I did mess-up and get an Ice Skater instead of a Scientist because I thought her hair was the bottle, lol

    April 23, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    • I have tried this. In fact I tried to do it with the ones on the table tonight before I cut them open. And like I said the only thing I could tell was the radiation suit. The rest were a wash. I just can’t figure out the shapes in my mind. All I ever feel are the base plate, the body, and the legs. I can never feel the specifics – which is the most important parts!

      April 23, 2011 at 10:19 pm

    • ƒℓυ H4CK

      In my town they are fed up so they scan the barcode and tell us what is inside😀

      April 24, 2011 at 4:35 am

    • You could try and find something else, and feel all round in the bag, I almost never been wrong doing it that way.

      April 24, 2011 at 6:09 pm

  3. Just me

    Since series 3 I have gone into Target here in Australia and bought a whole sealed box which I then take home and take my time to feel for each unique piece that identifies each character. Sometimes you need to shake the little packs to separate the bricks until you can actually feel for the tinier ones. Series 4 has been my best yet, 21 bags opened and every one exactly what I wanted and thought it would be, not one mistake. 16 for my son who has all 4 sets now, an extra guitarist, wolfman and Frankenstein for my eldest son, a geisha for a friend and the soccer guy for my brother.

    I wish I could help you out to complete your collection but I don’t know any other way other than what has been suggested already.

    April 24, 2011 at 1:03 am

  4. Just me

    I also return all the unopened packets undamaged to the store. There so far has been 2 complete sets in a box with only 1 short of there being 3 complete sets. So by taking the 16 I want there are still plenty for others.

    April 24, 2011 at 1:06 am

  5. I only got one, Musketeer. Got him! I found the sword. I also got the Elf from series three by feeling the shield. Yes! Got the two coolest minifigs!

    April 24, 2011 at 1:24 am

  6. Myn M.

    Ooh, the mad scientist would be awesome! Hope you can find it.

    The garden gnome and radiation suit guy sound great too.

    April 24, 2011 at 1:30 am

  7. Melissa

    The scientist hair is soft and bounces back when you feel through the bag

    April 24, 2011 at 2:48 am

  8. There needs to be a swap group. Lego must think kids buys these but in reality I bet it is mostly adult.
    It almost makes sense to buy the whole collection at inflated price just so you know your get the whole set.

    April 24, 2011 at 7:50 am

  9. If you’re after specific ones, eBay’s the way to go. I was lucky enough to be gifted a Mad Scientist and Hazmat Guy for my collection but I’d love a Musketeer. Things were so much easier with the barcodes in Series 1/2.

    April 24, 2011 at 8:35 am

    • i’ve seen them on eBay, but they’re always retardedly expensive there because it’s people trying to make a buck. I’m not paying more than $3.

      April 24, 2011 at 10:53 am

  10. i would agree with Ebay for buying and selling specifics. firestart toys in the uk do sell them, but imo the mark up is just a little too much for me (I know they are making a living, but I can’t justify it). it would be nice if lego could create a swap site – not everyone has kids that they can send into the playground!

    April 24, 2011 at 10:52 am

  11. Dan,

    I feel your pain. I agree about the number of each minfig in case. Should be equal. I can’t afford to bu a case anyway, so I’ve bought 5 or so at a time, and I stink at feeling them out and I can never remember the bump codes.. So I get a random bunch each time.. up to this weekend, I’ve gotten far to many Duplicates in the same cases at TRU.. And alas I haven’t gotten the ones I really wanted. such as the Frankenstein monster, hazmet guy, and Mad SCIENTIST. But this weekend I bought ten from the same case randomly picking and got

    3 Frankenstein monsters
    3 Hazmat Guys
    1 Gnome (I had 3 previously)
    1 Viking (I had 1 previously)
    1 Kimono Girl (I had 3 previously)
    1 Punk Rocker (I had 3 previously)

    Alas, I’m complete with Series 4 with the big exception of the Mad SCIENTIST.

    Makes me wonder about the minfig selection per box… I Sadly believe it comes down $$$.

    April 24, 2011 at 1:30 pm

  12. Jim

    I Get them for free..so..

    April 24, 2011 at 1:42 pm

  13. Jim

    Yea, i got fransworth’s house, preety cool and could match your screenshots in river😉.

    April 24, 2011 at 1:44 pm

  14. I have never felt a bag, but I can’t imagine that I’d be good at it anyway.🙂
    I can’t wait to see the Viking and the garden gnome minifigs!

    April 24, 2011 at 2:34 pm

  15. not to put u down or anything but i only got one those figures in series 3 i felt the bag and the only way i knew was the banana for the monkey suited man

    April 24, 2011 at 6:11 pm

  16. I’v got the Viking (the coolest minifigure), and the Musketeer is REALLY cool.

    April 24, 2011 at 6:11 pm

  17. Mandy

    Hey! Love this site! I have an artist for sell on ebay.

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=300548163395&ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT

    This is what I did. I bought 60 at Toys R Us (they had a free shipping promotion going on at that time) and got almost 2 complete sets with a bunch of extras which I sell on ebay.

    If you’re interested, let me know. Unfortunately, I’ve already sold my musketeer and only got one mad scientist out of the 60.

    Keep up the work!

    April 24, 2011 at 8:51 pm

  18. Josh

    The hazmat guy is the easiest, followed by the geisha with the large brick -no legs.

    As for the ones you are looking for, the Musketeer is pretty easy to feel. The hat is big and flat on one side. The scientist has soft hair. The hardest one for me was the painter. The viking shield is similar to the paint pal. As far as I could tell my TRU had 1 painter left.

    It’s time consuming if they have several open boxes, I spent 4 hours there to complete 1 set.

    April 25, 2011 at 10:24 pm

  19. Lego.com has upped the limit from 16 to 32 now.
    Here’s a link for the bumpcodes.

    If you have 1 of the minifigs and can’t find them, take the bar code from the package and have someone scan it, they can tell if there are any in the store.

    April 25, 2011 at 10:28 pm

  20. Once you get used to reading the bumps it isn’t too bad. We haven’t had any double ups yet, getting a few each time we go to the store. http://blog.brownpaperbunny.com/2011/04/lego-lego-lego.html

    April 29, 2011 at 9:17 am

  21. lego man

    The new lego shops just released a series four collecters box. It includes all of the minifigs in the series,they are visable too! Try going to your local lego shop and check it out. i just got back from there and bought all 4 series!

    April 30, 2011 at 12:04 am

    • unfortunately, knoxville does not have a lego store.

      kind of makes me wish i was still in DC.

      …kind of….

      April 30, 2011 at 9:47 am

  22. Your blog is really popular–Lego should give you free minifigs AND let you choose!

    May 9, 2011 at 1:42 pm

    • you’d think. but no. they’d sue me if i tried to sell a photobook. i’ve already had contact with them. as far as they’re concerned, i’m a thorn in their side. bunch of big whiny babies. waahhh wahhh copyright. waaaahh. like i’m trying to say i invented lego and want to sell it? morons.

      but i’m not bitter.
      no.
      not at all.

      May 9, 2011 at 5:13 pm

Leave a Reply

