for two years. -less often, now

Freshly Pressed Again!! + 1,000,000 views contest

Wow! a LEGO a day was “Freshly Pressed” for a second time on WordPress’ homepage for photography. Wicked!

I’m honored – again! Haha

Though I found it interesting a photo from 22 days ago was the one linked – I hope they see all the rest of the photos!
Newcomers: there are over 500 LEGO photos waiting for your eyes on here! Check the archives for the first year’s project, and scroll back through this year’s too!

This makes a perfect opportunity to announce the next contest. With the Freshly Pressed getting the blog a lot of views today, we’re going to reach that 1,000,000 mark a lot sooner than I expected – which is awesome.

So, here’s the deal.

When we hit 1,000,000 views, that day’s (or the day after – or sometime right about the time, LOL) I will be posting another special photo. There will be a contest to go along with that photo. I won’t tell you what it is yet, but it isn’t another caption contest.

The prize, you ask?

Well, in honor of such an awesome milestone, the prize must be equally as awesome, right?

The winner of the contest will receive their very own, signed copy of a first edition PHOTO BOOK featuring a collection of photos from the two years of photos. Now, the book obviously has not been created yet. I am going to wait until the conclusion of this year’s project – which won’t be until July 31st. So, you’ll have to wait a while. I’m holding off because if I make it now, who knows what awesome photos from the future I may be missing out on! It won’t be a collection of every single photo from both years, but more a collection of my, and fan favorites. (Otherwise the book would be huge and since I’m self publishing it it would cost a bazillion dollars to order and ship, sorry!) But don’t worry, there will be plenty of awesomeness.

It is important to note the book will not be for sale – I can’t do that for obvious reasons. Unless a publisher comes along and wants to help…HINT HINT SOMEONE OUT THERE!!!🙂
But, there’s no rule that says I can’t create one for myself and give it away as a gift or prize.

So, the winner will have to wait a few months for their bounty, but I’m sure you understand.

Residents outside the United States – I am not sure if this will be open to you yet – I WANT it to be, but I need to research the cost of mailing a heavy package overseas. I’m a lowly teacher on a laughable income with a wife in grad school – so $$ is pretty tight. If anyone out there knows what it would cost to ship something overseas via UPS, let me know.

So, that’s all the news for today.

I heart you all. You make this happen.

~Dan

14 responses

  1. That is so awesome Dan, congratulations. The first time you were freshly pressed was the way I found you in the first place! So I hope these people that see this come flocking and become the building blocks of an even larger following.

    March 15, 2011 at 1:46 pm

  2. Congratulations on Freshly Pressed! Just wanted to let you know that your blog is a hit with my son, who turned 5 yesterday. As soon as he gets up every morning without fail for the past several months, he’s asked to check your blog to see if the new picture is up🙂

    March 15, 2011 at 5:53 pm

  3. Jessica

    Congratulations on front page again! I found your blog earlier this morning and spent hours laughing at the LEGO pictures. Beautiful work, I can’t wait to see more LEGOs!

    March 15, 2011 at 5:58 pm

  4. Cool blog! I love all the photos, the legos look great in them!🙂

    March 15, 2011 at 7:53 pm

  5. You a very clever photographer. It’s no wonder you were freshly pressed again and so soon after the first time. Love, love, love your photos. I loved the Cape Daisy flower, but your Lego pix are all so stellar. They tell a wonderful story. Congratulations and hope you get a publisher for your book very soon!

    March 16, 2011 at 1:08 am

  6. Wow, your blog is so cool! Thanks ‘Freshly pressed’. I’m sure I’ll be spending the next couple of hours just going through it all!

    March 16, 2011 at 3:01 am

  7. Congrads on being Freshly Pressed again. That is so funny they linked to a picture ‘ages’ ago. But hey, publicity is publicity. So glad I’m subscribed and get nifty photos in my inbox daily. Your posts always make me smile, Oh, and I loved your Official and Unofficial Pirates club photos. So did my father.
    Keep up the excellent work, captions, photography, and amazing ideas. I’m always happy to see a Lego post in my email.🙂

    March 16, 2011 at 3:14 am

  8. Congrats! This is so exciting. It happened to me last year and I was over the moon thrilled.
    Also, got the framing stuff for my two prints today, birthdays are at the end of the month so we won’t have the actions shots until then, sorry about the delay. But wow, are they going to look good on those walls!
    Keep up the good work, I’m standing by for the new contest.
    Julie

    March 16, 2011 at 5:55 am

  9. great! i cant wait for the contest!

    March 16, 2011 at 7:22 am

  10. lego maniac

    can you give me a head start on the contest by telling me what the contest is!:P

    March 16, 2011 at 9:43 am

  11. 200 more to 1 million :P!!

    p.s. LOVELY LEGO PICTURES.

    March 16, 2011 at 3:54 pm

  12. Have you noticed you’re on my blog roll?

    March 16, 2011 at 4:26 pm

  13. That prize sounds so good, I’ve finally stopped crying about not even being placed in the caption competition.

    March 17, 2011 at 10:37 am

  14. Ramblings of a Singleton

    A big congratulations on being Freshly Pressed. I’ve only just found your site – it’s really excellent. So inventive and creative. Can’t wait to see more!

    March 19, 2011 at 7:43 am

Leave a Reply

