for two years. -less often, now

Day 139 + Whoa!

Welcome to all the new folks!

I don’t know how it happened, but much to my surprise the blog made it onto WordPress’ “Freshly Pressed” feature on the WP homepage. Right at the top. And it brought in a ton of new people. We’ve gotten a ton of hits today, and even more awesome comments. So I want to take a second to thank you all for leaving such gracious comments and feedback – I’m glad you stumbled across my project today!

For those new people, in case you haven’t had a chance to check the other pages here, this is actually the 2nd time I’ve done this project. When you’ve got some extra time, take a look back through the archives at the first year – there are a lot of great, fun, photos. Truthfully, I think this year has produced more photographic pictures, while last year produced a lot more funny scenes that used captions. You’ll probably notice how my photography skills have vastly improved as well.

ANYWAY, I’m blabbing. Welcome everyone – I hope you keep checking back. I try to update every day, but don’t always get a chance to. But keep checking back!

——–

If you’re interested in buying prints of the photos, they will be available for sale starting next week (hopefully). I already have the online store set up, but am waiting on a few things.
And just so you know, all of your contributions will be put toward a new camera (Pentax K-5), and toward our honeymoon in Iceland this summer (where I will use said camera!) We got married last summer but couldn’t afford to take the trip or have time due to our moving states and jobs.
So, I hope some of you will do me the honor of wanting to hang some photos on your walls – I’ll be selling some of my regular photography as well! Yu can find all of my photos at my Flickr site, which can be found in the links at the bottom of the page.

Check back hopefully this weekend for a link to the store, but they won’t be available to buy quite yet – but feel free to browse!πŸ™‚

Ok, now today’s photo…

32 responses

  1. Congrats on making it to the Freshly Pressed page! I only found out about this awesome blog from there haha! I’ve been planning to work on a comic using LEGO figurines, and your photos have surely inspired me. Keep up the good work, and let me know if you’re keen on working together some time in the future!πŸ˜‰

    December 17, 2010 at 9:48 pm

  2. I try to visit your blog every day. By the way, I don’t think that this did something to your “stats” but I linked to you. (according to the stats on blogger, that post had 18 pageviews-meaning that maybe…oh, possibly 16 or 15 people went on the link.) Keep it up!πŸ™‚

    December 17, 2010 at 11:03 pm

    • Camasthecat, I have him linked to.

      December 18, 2010 at 11:19 am

  3. oh! and I just noticed your favicon! I love it!πŸ™‚

    December 17, 2010 at 11:04 pm

  4. I love your idea and your Lego pictures…I went back this evening and looked through the ones you took last year and shared them with my husband…He is also a 5th grade teacher. We enjoyed laughing and looking at them together…Looking forward to many more in the days ahead…

    December 17, 2010 at 11:18 pm

  5. omfg! never know lego + photographer will be this great. i love your picture man!

    December 18, 2010 at 1:40 am

  6. hey can i do this same project later in the future so i can keep your memories of this website and photos remembered cause ever since i found out about this amazing website i wanted to do the same thing you do with your legos too. and you should keep going with the years cause what are you going to do when more people show up and theres no new photos well its only your choice not mine so you do what ever you want too do with your stuff ok broπŸ™‚

    December 18, 2010 at 3:03 am

  7. Raven

    Great pics!πŸ˜€

    December 18, 2010 at 5:21 am

  8. Antonht

    I never thought you could make lego pics that stunning! Great photosπŸ™‚

    December 18, 2010 at 6:02 am

  9. Wow. Lego photography.
    Thats great idea

    December 18, 2010 at 7:02 am

  10. I found you on the freshly pressed page and have been enjoying your photos ever since! Thanks for the smiles! These pictures are great! You are so very creative!

    December 18, 2010 at 8:26 am

  11. Found you on Freshly Pressed and so glad I did. My 12-year-old son and I spent last night totally cracking up as we went through all your photos, one by one. He was already into making “brick films,” but this has inspired him yet again. Your approach is somehow more creative and inspired and yet simpler at the same time. Beautiful photography, hilarious parodies. We love it!

    December 18, 2010 at 9:07 am

  12. Just saw your blog on Freshly Pressed, and I’ll be back to catch up on what I’ve missed.

    Very cool!

    December 18, 2010 at 9:32 am

  13. Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed. What a fantastic idea and the way you capture the photos is fantastic… I’ve subscribed and can’t wait to see more. Happy Holidays !

    December 18, 2010 at 9:38 am

  14. Fantastic blog. I LOVE the stormtrooper pics and have my eye on one or two.

    Thank you for creating this blog!

    December 18, 2010 at 10:34 am

  15. pen2sword

    Found your blog via Freshly Pressed and I am sending the link to my brother right now. He is Lego OBSESSED.πŸ™‚

    December 18, 2010 at 10:45 am

  16. Real cool pic. Where did you get all that ice????

    December 18, 2010 at 11:20 am

    • mother nature left it

      December 18, 2010 at 11:25 am

  17. MRPhelps, what do you click on to post a picture and all that stuff on your blog?

    December 18, 2010 at 11:43 am

    • the little picture icon above the text box on the create a post page

      December 18, 2010 at 11:56 am

  18. Found you yesterday on Freshly Pressed and spent the evening looking at all the pictures.

    They are very well done. I’ve been using my inexpensive digital camera for about a year and have trouble with close-ups – they tend to be blurry. I think I might try something like this for practice – I can see the difference in your pictures as the project progresses.

    December 18, 2010 at 12:25 pm

  19. Hey, really cool that’s You’re doing, men! Congratulation!
    When I was a kid, I’ve quite enjoyed playing with Legos, and still wanna do it nowdays… (:
    I’ve just take a glimpse at Your older photos – every is a little story, and all of ’em are far high quality. I’m also taking some shots, if have a little time for it (has a Sony Alpha). But doing it with Lego – that’s another world…

    December 18, 2010 at 2:12 pm

  20. You are the coolest person that I don’t know.

    December 18, 2010 at 3:00 pm

  21. Mr M

    As much as I enjoy writing goofy captions for these, I really like the concept. Great photography.

    December 18, 2010 at 3:52 pm

  22. evidex

    Like a lot of others, I found you through Freshly Pressed, and quickly ran back through to this year’s first photo. What a brilliant site, with great pics, close up, these little lumps of plastic really take on a life of their own. I’ve submitted my own idea to your Formspring, and have already Facebooked a link to this to many friendsπŸ™‚

    Keep up the great workπŸ™‚

    December 18, 2010 at 6:41 pm

  23. Stumbled across this on the Featured Page. What a fantastic project and fantastic photography. You really have developed your composition and technique as you have progressed.

    You have cheered me up on what was otherwise a grim day!

    Cant wait for the next one!

    Piers Cunliffe

    December 18, 2010 at 7:19 pm

  24. Delicious memories.

    December 18, 2010 at 10:52 pm

  25. Great composition! I love the way it feels as though the lego piece is travelling on rough terrains.

    December 19, 2010 at 7:02 am

  26. Love your great pictures. I can’t wait to show my 24 year old son the site this weekend when he is home for Christmas. He has always been a Lego fan. That reminds me of the stocking stuffer I still need to buy. Great photography. Jeanne

    December 19, 2010 at 9:21 am

  27. Congratulations on all the new audience.

    And yay for K-5.πŸ˜‰

    December 19, 2010 at 9:40 am

  28. I found you on the WordPress home page too. I looked at all the pictures, and laughed almost nonstop at the funny ones (obviously), and ‘wow’ed the amazing ones. I love it!
    Merry Christmas!

    December 19, 2010 at 12:44 pm

Leave a Reply

