for two years. -less often, now

Prize Giveaway #1!

Here’s your first chance at one of the prize package giveaways!

The top three (3) responses [as chosen by me – and probably my fiancee] will win a Mini-Prize Pack, which includes:

  • (1) copy LEGO Star Wars Visual Dictionary
  • (1) 10/10/09 T-Shirt.

All you need to do is answer this question:

What is your favorite moment in the Star Wars saga, and why?
(Be specific – be thorough! Convince me!)

All comments must be accompanied by a valid email address, otherwise I can’t contact you as a winner!

Entries are only valid today, 10/10/09. Winners will be selected and notified by Sunday night.

26 responses

  1. Okay… so, this is my attempt to win this for my 12 year old son, Daniel, who is obsessed with all things Star Wars and especially Lego Star Wars. He has several of the sets and has become a master at putting these 1000 piece sets together… He would adore the book and I plan to buy it for him if we do not win.

    Daniel is currently in Colorado visiting his Dad’s family and is unaware of this contest… So, to answer for Daniel, if I had to guess what HIS favorite moment in the Star Wars saga would be, I would imagine it would be the fight between Obi Wan and Anakin at the end of Episode III… I’ve watched him act out that scene several times with his lego figures and with his action figures. He of course, being the boy that he is, loves the scene after that one where Anakin becomes Darth Vader… that’s another scene he’s acted out many times🙂.

    My favorite part of the Star Wars Saga???… Seeing it be such a pleasure for both my son and my husband. I was a single mom to Daniel for 6 years until my husband and I began dating. Brian, my husband, introduced Daniel to all things Star Wars and Lego Star Wars and it became something they could watch and play with together and they bonded quickly… Now, 6 years later, they still have an awesome bond and still love having Star Wars Marathon days where they watch all of the episodes in one sitting🙂.

    My son has been a huge fan of this website… I’ve made sure to screen the pictures first and I appreciate the humor being clean enough for children to appreciate. Thank you.

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY ANNIE!!!

    October 10, 2009 at 11:04 am

  2. My favorite moment in the Star Wars saga in where Anakin turn’s to the dark side. Because you have seen what a good person he is and now you see the real darkness inside of him. How he is hurting the people he loves and cares about, all for nothing. I always cry my eyes out starting from where he go’s to the Jedi Temple all the way to the end of the movie. I think the part that hurts the most is the fight with Obi-Wan. They where brothers and now there friendship had fallen to pieces. Obi-Wan does not want to leave him, but he has no choice. That really makes me cry. And now we understand how Darth Vader was created and the little glimmer of good that Luke saw in him. Thank you for entering me in your contest. ^-^ And your photos are totally awesome!

    Auberne` Acalimon @-`—

    October 10, 2009 at 11:44 am

  3. Brian Benson

    This is my favorite scene in the Star WArs Saga. For obvious reasons.

    October 10, 2009 at 11:53 am

  4. My favorite moment in Star Wars is the cantina scene from Star Wars IV and not even any specific happening in the Cantina but the Cantina itself. The quick cuts of the different aliens and the cantina band blew my mind when I was a child with the thought of the different alien races that could be out there. And the “Modal Nodes” band equally awed me with their space jazz. It got to the point that later in my adult life I edited out all the humans and heros from the scene so I can watch just the cantina aliens and focus on the details and variety of creatures. If it wasn’t for the cantina scene I wouldn’t be attempting to make intergalactic music today (see: myspace.com/triobelisk).

    October 10, 2009 at 12:07 pm

  5. Jake F

    My favorite moment is the opening of The Empire Strikes Back, when we see the ice planet, Hoth, and we begin to see the rebel base there and the battle that will take place. As a kid the idea of a planet covered in ice seemed like such science fiction to me, and it was fascinating. The Imperial Walkers, the speeders flying over the snow, the Tauntauns, everything about this world was cool to me when I first saw it. It still is!

    October 10, 2009 at 12:13 pm

  6. Jake

    My favorite moment, well, really more of a scene, is the Gigantic battle in the arena in episode 2, because it has the most lightsaber/ blaster action of any scene in any movie. The fact that it has almost every Jedi knight living at that time, including ones that you don’t see in any scene in any other episode, is another reason I enjoy it. The ‘torture’ creatures, the geonosians and the droids are all great, but the big plus to this scene is that you can see that, although many are human, most Jedi are other species, which, otherwise, is really only shown in Clone Wars cartoons. Also, it’s one of only two times where you get to see Mace Windu in action.

    October 10, 2009 at 12:13 pm

  7. Greg Daly

    In Return of the Jedi, when Luke finally gives into his emotions as Vader tells him that he will turn Leia to the dark side instead. Everything stands on a knife’s edge as the emperor has his chance to turn Luke to the dark side and seal his grip on the galaxy. Here, despite everything that has happened so far, the Rebellion could fail, solely on the strength of Luke’s convictions.

    This just gave the end the tension it needed to me, and you’ve managed to remind me just how long my lego has been sitting in the cupboard😦

    October 10, 2009 at 12:18 pm

  8. Robert

    My favorite part of the Star Wars Saga would have to be when Anikin and Obiwan duel on Munstafar. It probily the most clamatic part of the saga where the fate of the galaxy depends on what happens in that fight. It was also interesting seeing two good friends turned against each other. Anikin’s journey to the dark side was amazing and this battle is really the first time when we see that Anikin is seriously evil and very dangerous. The Munstafar duel was the longest fight scene ever in Star Wars and it had some of the most amazing special effects I’ve ever seen in a movie. The setting could not have been any better and it added to the emotion of the scene. At the end of the scene we realize that Anikin is no longer the hero he was and that there is little hope left for the jedi order as well as the rest of the galixy. When Anikin is burning in the lava, we see the consequences of greed and where it can leed. With that aside the scene also made for a good Lego set and minifigs with light up lightsabers! I❤ your photos!

    October 10, 2009 at 12:39 pm

  9. ANGEL

    My fav in the whole saga? Oh the hard questions! It has to be the moment when that shiny black helmet gets lowered down and we hear Vader’s first “Vader breath”. Star wars was my obsession as a kid, like lots of other kids I watched it over and over and knew it by heart. But there was something about Darth Vader, the ultimate bad guy,I remember up until ROTJ when the mask came off we didnt know what was under there. What he was was, or why he was like that. When Vader came on screen as a kid you were just mesmerized.

    So, many years later having shared Star Wars with my own kid. I couldnt get to a theater to see Sith (I know- bad star wars fan) but the upside being I sat and watched it the day the dvd came out with my daughter. She was about 5 and still pondering the whole 4,5,6,1,2,3 thing and the political aspects were a bit confusing for her. But that moment where the helmet gets lowered and we hear that first breath, that was amazing. I knew it was coming obviously, but that didnt take away from it. I got chills watching it. After all those years to finally see the ultimate Star Wars moment- the creation of Vader. I looked at my daughter and could see her eyes glued to the screen, she was mesmerized- just like I had been as kid. It was just a great moment. My daughter is older now, and she often requests Star Wars marathons which Im more than happy to oblige. We have a lot of favorite scenes, inside jokes and favorite lines. But thats the one scene where every time were both on the edge of our seats, waiting for that first breath as Vader. Star wars coming full circle.

    October 10, 2009 at 1:06 pm

  10. Here is the favorite part from my son Henry, who is 6,: “from starwars clone wars, anikan skywalker goes to fight general grievous and misoka helps him in the battle in the sky… general greivous is a HUUUUGE bad guy. he has FOUR arms and FOUR lightsabers and only 2 feet (just exactly like everyone else, except for the giant droid who has 15 legs – he almost killed anikan!! ) all bad guys are droids except zero the hut, and a couple more people, i have no idea what their names are. and that’s it.”

    he ADORES Legos, I’ve never seen anyone build things the way he does – we’ve LOVED looking at your photos!!

    and happy birthday annie!!

    -Marne.

    October 10, 2009 at 1:46 pm

  11. and please forgive my awful spelling of Starwars character names. I was typing as fast as I could while Henry spoke!

    and you can contact us at marneantonia(at)gmail(dot)com.

    -Marne

    October 10, 2009 at 1:50 pm

  12. cbar629

    The very end of Episode 6 when the images of Yoda, Anakin, and Obi Wan appear together, because it shows that redemption is possible. I love Star Wars…

    c _ risher @ yahoo . com

    October 10, 2009 at 2:16 pm

  13. I have so many! It’s REALLY hard to choose, but if I had to…

    My favorite moment in the Star Wars saga would probably be in Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back when Han Solo is getting ready to be frozen in carbonite, and Leia says she loves him, and he replies, “I know.” They did that scene over and over again, because that line wasn’t actually in the original script, he was supposed to say, “I love you, too.” Finally they just told them to do the scene again and just get into character and let it flow, which is when Harrison Ford delivered that line. It was perfect for the character of Han Solo, and such a heart wrenching moment in the movies. and so memorable. So there it is.🙂

    Also, my husband is a lego fanatic. He has the HUGE sets of the death star, and star destroyer, and we LOVE your site!!!

    October 10, 2009 at 2:21 pm

  14. My favorite part of the saga is easy to decide. During the Battle of Endor, we see several Ewoks rejoicing with Imperial blasters held up to the sky. With so many Sci-fi extravaganzas out there, most take a moral high road, with commands such as Star Trek’s Prime Directive. In the Star Wars Universe, it is okay to let a civilization that has yet to discover how to work metals wield high powered laser rifles.

    October 10, 2009 at 2:50 pm

  15. My favorite moment in Star Wars is from Empire Strikes Back, when the first Walker has been downed and the Rebels get up out of the trenches and rally forward. I grew up in Maine and the idea of the warfare out in the snow scene reminds me of winters growing up. I’m also particularly fond of LEGO set 7749 — Echo Base, which is essentially that scene.

    October 10, 2009 at 3:10 pm

  16. Beth

    I asked my youngest, who used to be rocked to sleep with me humming the Star Wars theme when he was an infant.

    He said his favorite moment was the lightsaber duel on Mustafar between Anakin and Obi Wan. The setting on Mustafar, with all the lava, was exciting and awesome. That scene really stays with you. (I would add that it was such a pivotal moment to the saga, but he is 9 and more impressed with lava!)

    mb32 at comcast dot net

    October 10, 2009 at 5:40 pm

  17. Frank

    The opening scene of A New Hope was my favorite moment of all the Star Wars films. The length of time that it took for the Imperial starship to pass after you have seen the seemingly large rebel ship pass set the tone for a David and Goliath story as well as being far beyond any of the special effects that I remember from the time. It had the audience on the edge of their seats where they stayed for the rest of the film. You knew that there would be the unexpected throughout the film and I was not disappointed.

    October 10, 2009 at 5:49 pm

  18. Don G.

    Trying to win the dictionary for my 6 year-old son who LOVES anything Star Wars!

    My favorite Star Wars scene…. hmmmm…. a lot of them to choose from….

    I saw Episode IV in NYC on a trip with my father and best friend back when it first came out. It was on a BIG screen…. the biggest I had EVER seen! I’m Deaf, so the storyline wasn’t accessible to me until the videotapes came out in closed captions (about 7 – 8 years later). Until then, it was the visual images that I remember most. I would have to say that my favorite scene was the battle over and into the Death Star. The dogfight combat taking place from an external perspective as well as Luke’s personal perspective was visually appealing to me, with all the laser shots flying around, fighters bobbing and weaving, and of course, the explosions. When Luke entered the Death Star’s trench, with Darth and all the Empire fighters behind him, weaving in and out and between the struts and pylons, George Lucas made me feel as if I was flying the X-wing myself. Ever since, I have wished I could fly my own X-wing!

    October 10, 2009 at 7:03 pm

  19. Yvette

    This is my sons, Brendens, favorite. He is 7 and has love looking at your blog pictures with me! He is obsessed with LEGO’s! Thanks!
    email: luvscrapping at cinci.rr.com

    October 10, 2009 at 9:20 pm

  20. Yvette

    This is my sons, Brendens, favorite. He is 7 and has love looking at your blog pictures with me! He is obsessed with LEGO’s! Thanks!
    email: luvscrapping at cinci.rr.com

    October 10, 2009 at 9:21 pm

  21. Antonio Salerno

    I must say I have many favorite moments. Many from when I first saw the movies so many years ago and some from when I’m experiencing them with my 5 (soon to be 6) year old son, who is totally into star wars (the way I was into star trek when I was a kid).
    When the death star blows up in Episode IV a New Hope is my favorite scene right now. Why, because I remember cheering when I first saw the movie when it first came out way back in 1977. In fact I remember the entire theater cheering. How many movies does that really happen during. You thought this was the end of a great movie, you didn’t know then there would be more, and it was awesome! But, that’s not the only reason. Because when my 5 year old son watched the movie with me a couple of weeks ago, and the death star blew up, he cheered, pumped his fist in the air (why didn’t I do that when I first saw the movie?) and had the biggest grin on his face. That is my favorite moment in the star wars saga…

    October 10, 2009 at 10:04 pm

  22. Ilya

    My husband, our 6-year-old son and I all absolutely love the sequences on Hoth. From the moment in ‘The Empire Strikes Back’ when the imperial probe droid lifts out of the depression in the snow that it created upon impact, the ominous nature of the machine, an extension of Darth Vader himself, sets an eerie tone. The landscape, so barren, is such a great backdrop for the battle. The most amazing vehicles, the giant AT-AT walkers on the march are spine-tingling as they edge closer to the base. Though we love One Arm, the Wampa, and the sudden shock of Luke being knocked from his mount, our favorite creatures, besides our hero rebels, are absolutely the tauntauns. We all do a mean tauntaun imitation in our house! Ok, cutting open the dead tauntaun always elicits squeals in our house. My son is so Hoth obsessed that his birthday party, in August mind you, was Hoth themed. We had probe droids sticking out of the white frosted cupcakes, posters of Luke on a tauntaun and a downed At-At in the middle of the big table. Some of the best dialogue between Han and Leia occurs on Hoth. Never has been being called a “scruffy looking nerf herder” sounded so good. Of course, one of the best moments on Hoth is seeing the Millennium Falcon getting away at the last moment, as Luke readies to leave. It’s such a relief that our heroes are safe at last.

    October 10, 2009 at 10:39 pm

  23. Glen

    My favorite Star Wars moment has to be when Jabba sentences Luke, Han, and Chewie to the Sarlaac Pit. All seems hopeless until Luke gives R2-D2 “the nod”. It’s a great scene with a combination of lightsabers, lasers, and Princess Leia choking Jabba the Hutt (he had that coming to him from the very start). It shows that teamwork can get you out of any situation, no matter how bad it looks. The finale of Jabba’s Sail Barge getting blown to bits, while the two droids are being pulled out of the sand, caps off what I can only describe as “a masterful combination of action and humor.” My favorite Star Wars scene.

    gcuthbert35@cogeco.ca

    October 10, 2009 at 11:58 pm

  24. Ed Chen

    It has to be the attack on the Death Star. When the X-wings are flying around like World War I air fighters – I love that scene!!

    October 11, 2009 at 1:56 am

  25. Obviously WAY too late for the contest but I just had to say that my favorite part of the trilogy is the when the droids are getting tron apart and scolded on the bottom of their “feet”. Who knew doids could feel pain???

    February 25, 2010 at 9:58 pm

  26. Hello thank you for posting this stuff, I am going to do something somewhat the same so this post is helpful. -Ashley P.

    November 11, 2010 at 2:25 pm

Leave a Reply

