for two years. -less often, now

Day 365

day365

Well, here we are.
The end.
Thank you, everyone, for everything – all year.
Thank you for all the compliments, all the thoughts, and all the encouragement.

And most of all, thank you for enjoying this project as much as I did.

Thanks to my lovely fiancee who put up with me constantly needing to take a photo after a 7-hour drive back to NY to see her, if only for a weekend. And doubly thank you to her because she knows me better than I know myself, and knew that channeling some Douglas Adams would be the most fitting way to bring this project to its conclusion.
Thanks babe🙂

Check back periodically for updates about the book (fingers crossed), and I plan on having prints available very soon.
And in the meantime, please feel free to keep up with my regular photography on my Flickr page: here!
~Dan

PS: For anyone not getting the sign in this picture, before you buy my book, you must read this book.

107 responses

  1. Anonymous

    Congrats and thank you for a wonderful year! Now I can look forward to the book.

    May 31, 2009 at 11:30 pm

  2. Much enjoyed, thanks! I even started my own, on a more … photographically challenged scale.🙂 http://365toyz.blogspot.com/

    May 31, 2009 at 11:47 pm

  3. Thanks a lot for a great year, lots of smiles and day dreaming. And congratulations on the end of a wonderful project.

    May 31, 2009 at 11:50 pm

  4. It had to be fish, didn’t it!

    Thanks for a great year, best of luck in the next thing, whatever that is.

    Pauline

    May 31, 2009 at 11:58 pm

  5. Great. It was a great year.

    June 1, 2009 at 12:05 am

  6. Congratulations!!

    Seguia tu blog todos los dias y era una de las cosas con las que empezaba el dia (ademas de revisar el correo)

    Cheers from Chile..

    June 1, 2009 at 12:23 am

  7. it couldnt have ended on a higher note.
    thank you =)

    June 1, 2009 at 12:52 am

  8. So sad it’s over. But glad that I have seen the site some 4 months ago.

    From Belgium Ludovic!

    June 1, 2009 at 1:24 am

  9. I’m bummed that I didn’t discover this blog until very late into your year. Fortunately for me, it means I still have something to look forward to as I go back over your old pieces. Conrgrats!

    June 1, 2009 at 1:54 am

  10. Thank YOU!

    June 1, 2009 at 2:23 am

  11. How can I now start my days without you and the little ones? :o)
    I cant’t believe today’s the day.
    Thanks for this wonderful project!

    June 1, 2009 at 2:24 am

  12. Congratulations! I have been following this blog for most of the year, each post has made me smile!

    Good luck with the book!

    June 1, 2009 at 2:40 am

  13. Dan

    Can’t believe the year has already passed. Splendid work! Congratulations!

    Now onto the next 365 challenge..

    June 1, 2009 at 2:43 am

  14. esther_a

    So long. And thanks for your charming photos. I’ll miss them

    June 1, 2009 at 2:53 am

  15. CousinCocaine

    I was only here for the last couple of weeks but i enjoyed it allot.
    Nice work and that were some sweet words for your friend.

    Thnx

    June 1, 2009 at 3:07 am

  16. Jay

    *bows his head in gratefulness and admiration*

    June 1, 2009 at 3:25 am

  17. Aussiechef67

    I literally shed a tear.

    June 1, 2009 at 3:40 am

  18. Mona E (SWE)

    Thank you very much for beautiful photos, smart remarks and lots of humour! I hope (and believe) that your girlfriend not only thinks of this project as some stupid thing she has to put up with, but also that she´s happy to have such a talented, artistic and fun boyfriend. Your photos are very special!

    I started playing with LEGO as a 3-year-old, in 1970, when the LEGO-people looked completely different from nowadays. They were twice the size and had large heads – a lot uglier! My parents took me and my brother to Legoland in Billerud in Denmark and it made a lasting impression to all of us. My brother has built a (functioning!) telephone and wall-clock of LEGO, for example. I myself have taken my three children to Legoland in Denmark two times and we all LOVE it. My youngest son went to school in a LEGO-t-shirt this morning. So you see, for an entire family consisting of LEGO-nerds, your blog is lika candy.

    Thank you again and also thanks for the inspiration: I´m thinking of doing something like this myself, but not about LEGO´s.

    Good luck with your life and hope you can focus more on your lovely girlfriend from now on!
    //Mona (Stockholm, Sweden)

    June 1, 2009 at 4:09 am

  19. Mum in the uk

    Thanks for a great year of photos, my kids and I have loved it every time. Your sense of humor, witty movie references and broad range of scenery have captivated us.

    June 1, 2009 at 4:28 am

  20. Exodus

    i’ll miss you and your photos. thank you for such a wonderful year!❤

    June 1, 2009 at 4:39 am

  21. Respect, mate. You did it. Congrats.

    June 1, 2009 at 5:35 am

  22. Thank you Dan.
    I’ve been watching your daily photo every morning, and it always made me smile while I was eating my kelloggs before college.
    I’m gonna miss all this.
    “Merci beaucoup”

    June 1, 2009 at 5:44 am

  23. Congratulations! I am really going to miss this!

    June 1, 2009 at 5:56 am

  24. Jim McCartney

    Started view late but I have really enjoyed your project.
    Thanks for the Douglas Adams part in my little town I think I am the only one who has enjoyed his stuff.

    June 1, 2009 at 6:11 am

  25. Heather

    Although you deserve a break, we are soooooooo bummed it’s over. Thanks for entertaining the kids and I each morning!

    June 1, 2009 at 6:47 am

  26. So sad it’s over, Dan, but I’ll keep you in my links list so I can visit and remember the good ole days. I’m hoping all goes well with your book.🙂

    June 1, 2009 at 7:01 am

  27. SO sad that today’s the day…we only found you a couple of months ago, but you have brought smiles and often laughter to us during a very tough year. Thanks for sacrificing your time on this, and we will never see the Legos quite the same again!

    Good luck on your future book (and more importantly) your upcoming marriage!

    Thanks,
    The Woodland Family

    June 1, 2009 at 7:03 am

  28. jarms

    Thank you for a little bit of lego-happiness each day!😀

    June 1, 2009 at 7:31 am

  29. Lisa

    I have really enjoyed your site.

    Will you continue to keep it up so I can go back and view the days I missed (and my 9 year old missed, also)?

    Thanks!

    June 1, 2009 at 7:37 am

  30. Nicely done, Dan!! I’m going to enjoy going back over them one by one🙂.

    June 1, 2009 at 7:38 am

  31. Thanks for all the fun you made me look forward to booting up my computer ever day at work for 5 months.

    June 1, 2009 at 8:01 am

  32. Edith

    Thanks for a fun site! My son and I loved it!

    June 1, 2009 at 8:06 am

  33. I hope, you start with a second year of lego🙂

    June 1, 2009 at 8:48 am

  34. Oh My Cat, what a pity! This has been one of the best blogs I’ve ever followed, with their simplicity and beauty. I hope you won’t forget to gift us any catch of your Lego each not too long time. A strong hug from Spain!

    June 1, 2009 at 9:11 am

  35. Jackie

    Thanks for making me laugh on a daily basis. My 15 yr. old son would text me and ask if I’d seen your latest work of art. I will not only miss that but I will miss you also. Good luck in all that you do and I will want an autographed copy of your book. Make sure all your legos come to your wedding, that’s a pic I have to see.

    Jackie Lowery

    June 1, 2009 at 9:17 am

  36. dawn in colorado

    We all knew this day was coming…who would have thought that it would be so hard to say good bye? Thanks again for all of your time, late nights and hard work into giving all of us something to look forward to each day and putting a smile on our face.

    Hey…are any of our little fellows invited to the wedding🙂 when you have it? Maybe they’ll make ramdon appearances🙂

    Dan, thanks again!

    also looking forward to your other photos.

    June 1, 2009 at 9:19 am

  37. Good job, I’ll miss checking out the photos every day. All good things must come to an end???? If you change your mind and want to go for 1 more year. let us know.

    June 1, 2009 at 9:42 am

  38. cograts on the 365 and thank you for a wonderful and pleasureful year😉

    cheers
    Renee

    June 1, 2009 at 10:07 am

  39. I can’t believe it’s over.

    I’ll miss Lego Ninja sooooooooooooo much.
    And all other pics.

    Good luck on your next project. I loved this one!

    June 1, 2009 at 10:21 am

  40. quags101

    Loved the project, congrats on finishing. I will definately miss those little guys! Look forward to seeing the book.

    Quags🙂

    June 1, 2009 at 10:28 am

  41. April

    We have enjoyed your blog. My son (6) loves legos and loved seeing pictures of his favorite minifigs.
    Best of luck to you and your future.

    June 1, 2009 at 11:05 am

  42. Jeanne

    Ok so I need someone to explain the last one to me!

    Altho I am fairly new to your site it has really been entertaining.I am amazed at what you have done! Good luck with all you do and a coffee table book would be great!

    June 1, 2009 at 11:42 am

  43. ve2vfd

    And so it ends…😥

    Thanks for sharing such a fun and interesting project with all of us Dan.

    We waited with anticipation for every new daily chapter in the lego dudes adventures and it was a pleasure to discover their cool world you created.

    I hope you are satisfied with your project and the skills you acquired in the process.

    I’ll end this with a HUGE thank you from a fan!

    June 1, 2009 at 11:44 am

  44. I have dreaded this day 365 for the entire count up all year. Sad that such a great idea has come to a close. However, you possess innate talent that I am sure will manifest into other great things. You have been a joy to follow for so many and I am sure we will be seeing and hearing more from you. Thank you and thank your fiance too. You are a better you with her in your life.

    June 1, 2009 at 11:45 am

  45. Christy

    Darn, it is over. Loved this blog. One of my favorites. Talk about commitment…

    June 1, 2009 at 11:58 am

  46. edumirome

    oooo what a year, great photos, great humor i cheked this blog every day an here we at least we can say
    The End

    June 1, 2009 at 12:23 pm

  47. Congrats!

    June 1, 2009 at 12:26 pm

  48. Ann

    Congrats with this project! I’ve been following your legopics for quite some time now!
    One question: what are you gonna do now with all your free time ?? just kidding😉

    June 1, 2009 at 12:36 pm

  49. Colleen

    :o( Very sad it’s over.

    I foresee a lego bride & groom on your wedding cake.

    Congratulations on an amazing project!

    June 1, 2009 at 1:43 pm

  50. Colleen

    That was supposed to be a sad face…😦

    June 1, 2009 at 1:44 pm

  51. ***** Standing Ovation from New Zealand *****

    Thanks so much Dan for sharing your amazing work this year it has been a much enjoyed part of our daily routine. My 11 year old has now started his own “Lego366” he says it’s a non leap year leap year special… it’ll be interesting to see how his mind ticks over the course of the year so thank-you also for inspiring him!

    Very best wishes for your year ahead and the book process!

    Gypsy
    http://www.seeshareremember.blogspot.com/
    and Kieran
    http://konthecorner.blogspot.com/

    June 1, 2009 at 3:16 pm

  52. Charles

    I am sad you are done doing this. I hope your book comes out soon. Thank you for all the funny stuff you put on here. I’ve also been taking pictures of my legos, but not once every day. Thanks again! Bye. Charles, age 10.

    June 1, 2009 at 3:24 pm

  53. El Lego de la Colina

    If you stop doing this I will cry…
    Your blog has been for me during a year the only one of thousands of millions blogs… I´ve tried to imitate you,. I´ve learnt a lot from you… I´m really waiting that book…

    June 1, 2009 at 4:09 pm

  54. yellowscuba

    Dan, this is as sad as the last Gary Larson desk calendar!! I am still bitter about that, and I am truly going to miss your blog. When I was in the midst of a crummy day, I often went to your blog to get a needed smile, and you never let me down, even if it was a touching post rather than a humorous one. Knowing you were a caring guy who posted about children, great musicians, and other artists always brought a smile to me. I will eagerly await the availability of your prints, and hopefully the book!

    I can’t wait to see the Legos at your wedding. Please add a photo to the blog when that happy day takes place.

    Congratulations on this accomplishment, but mostly on touching so many people (as is obvious by the above comments), in many ways. I wish you and your lovely bride-to-be great happiness, and much success.

    You must be the coolest teacher on the planet. 🙂

    Cheers!!
    Christine

    June 1, 2009 at 6:24 pm

  55. eatathomecooks

    I’ve enjoyed your site for a while now and so have my sons. I don’t think I’ve ever left you a comment before, but I wanted to say congrats on a great project! Your photography, imagination and perseverance are an inspiration. Sending you good wishes for the book project!

    June 1, 2009 at 7:05 pm

  56. Sharon

    Congratulations.

    Very sorry to see it’s over, found you about six months ago and I like many others have visited daily. You have been an inspiration, my 3yr old wants to know why this is the end.
    Hope to see more from you.
    Good luck with the book, eagerly awaiting info on this.
    And good luck to you and your fiancee.

    You will be missed.
    Sharon
    Australia

    June 1, 2009 at 7:36 pm

  57. Wendy

    I was secretly hoping you’d enjoy this too much to stop. Just me? Okay. I have enjoyed your blog for months now. My boys did too–if they saw me looking at your blog, they wanted to look at every picture, every time. Good luck on whatever it is you decide to do next!

    June 1, 2009 at 8:24 pm

  58. LEGO Dog

    Perhaps the dauphins can bribe you to give us another year? Anyway, it’s been an amazing ride the past year following your LEGO adventures. I think you’ve already said it the best that anyone could. Don’t be a stranger to the LEGO forums, so, so long…

    June 1, 2009 at 9:13 pm

  59. Not only a Zep fan, but also a Douglas Adams fan. I knew I liked you for some good reason(s)!

    It’s been a blast following you all these months, and I’m grateful you agreed to be my first F-BoM.

    My mornings will be sadder from now on. But at least you’ll now have a chance to make it work with your understanding fiancée, who is a real keeper, by the way 🙂

    See you at PF!

    June 1, 2009 at 10:17 pm

  60. One more year..!

    (Chant with me…)

    June 1, 2009 at 10:21 pm

    • Myn McGeek

      One more year!

      Ahem.

      =D

      June 1, 2009 at 10:57 pm

  61. Thank you very much for this beautifull year. Perhaps one more year?? I hope so.

    June 2, 2009 at 12:13 am

  62. dasmiest

    Thank you so much.

    And I’m also canting: One more year! Or two, or three…

    June 2, 2009 at 1:12 am

  63. Thank you for this wonderful year🙂

    Best wishes from Portugal

    Alex

    June 2, 2009 at 4:39 am

  64. Pingback: A Sad Day for LEGO & Photography Fans « Enticing the Light

  65. Diane Roberts

    What a fab year – you will be sadly missed! Can we not have Year 2 – Rise of the Lego?

    Anyways, fab photos – look forward to the book…..

    June 2, 2009 at 7:59 am

  66. Karen

    Thanks so much for the daily joy this site has brought to so many! I hope your future is as bright as Lego yellow!! Best wishes.

    June 2, 2009 at 8:07 am

  67. dawn in colorado

    I came here again today June 2nd hoping…wishing…that maybe there would be another one.
    That’s ok…I have all of last year to look at🙂
    Thanks again Dan

    June 2, 2009 at 8:10 am

  68. Beth

    Thanks so much for this site! My boys and I stumbled on it and it was love at first site. We’ve so enjoyed checking it each morning and starting the day with a smile. We’ll miss seeing new photos. I just had my oldest read the first Hitchhiker book, and so the message in the last post was especially sweet. Great job! You made it for an entire year and made a whole bunch of strangers from all over the world happy. 🙂 Thank you!

    June 2, 2009 at 8:19 am

  69. Thanks for all the great pics!

    June 2, 2009 at 9:16 am

  70. One year full of joy and laughs! I loved every photo you posted in this project. Thanks from Spain!

    And now… for something completely different😉

    June 2, 2009 at 4:50 pm

  71. Dan Buckler

    Beautiful. Just beautiful. Thanks so much, I enjoyed it everyday!

    June 2, 2009 at 9:22 pm

  72. Deb

    It’s June 2 and I’m recording withdrawal symptoms…. I NEED the book!!!

    onemoreyearonemoreyearonemoreyearonemoreyearonemoreyear….

    Great going Danno!

    June 2, 2009 at 11:23 pm

  73. DobbyFTW

    Thank you for making this amazing blog!
    Those little guys were always the bright part of my mornings.

    June 3, 2009 at 10:15 am

  74. MMG

    Congrats on your great feat! You have made a lot of us smile, and that is something for which you should be very proud. Keeping fingers crossed for the book.

    June 3, 2009 at 2:02 pm

  75. Christy

    Thank you so much for doing this. My son and I really enjoyed checking your site everyday and you have inspired him to make some of his own “lego-a-days”. He’s amassing quite a collection! His first comment on learning that it was over was “well let’s get the book!”. Can’t wait for it. Hope it comes to fruition.

    June 3, 2009 at 2:34 pm

  76. peter

    love the last picture, and the reference is out of this world – one of my favorite books! will miss my daily minifig pics. hope the book becomes reality.

    June 3, 2009 at 2:45 pm

  77. Congratulations! It’s been a fantastic journey.

    June 3, 2009 at 11:07 pm

  78. Darius

    Great job, been with you since the beginning (most likely will be buying the book).

    Seeing as You’re a Douglas Addams fan, I was wondering if you celebrated towel day? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Towel_Day

    Anyway, keep up the photography!

    June 4, 2009 at 12:09 am

  79. Nancy

    Awesome job!
    Thank you.

    June 4, 2009 at 12:35 pm

  80. JR

    Congrats… even though i’m a little sad that the project is finally done… if a book ever comes out its definitely on the acquire list.

    June 5, 2009 at 12:16 am

  81. Pingback: A LEGO A Day voorbij « Lacquemant

  82. Congratulations for a very nice year!

    June 5, 2009 at 2:54 am

  83. LegoLuver!

    Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!

    June 5, 2009 at 11:52 am

  84. DobbyFTW

    Come on, lets shoot for 365 responses!

    June 5, 2009 at 2:06 pm

  85. Stella

    I watched for most of the year and have enjoyed all the pics. Laughed out loud at many of them, and shared quite a few with friends. Congrats on completing a wonderful project!

    June 5, 2009 at 2:12 pm

  86. billy

    i’ve just finished reading all four books, it took me two months but i did it, ps are you going make it into a calender?, that would be cool

    June 6, 2009 at 2:49 am

  87. You’re simply amazing

    June 7, 2009 at 10:48 am

  88. Congratulations for a very nice year!
    It’s been a fantastic journey.
    Thank you for making this amazing blog!

    Good luck. LEGO Mania

    June 8, 2009 at 10:29 am

  89. Nick

    Thanks man, it was a good ride.

    It’s very likely I’ll buy the book if it arrives.

    June 11, 2009 at 6:48 am

  90. NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!! *sniff* Ill sure miss looking here every day for a new photo! I really enjoyed looking at all those ROCKIN’ AWESOME pix of yours.

    June 11, 2009 at 7:12 pm

  91. Annette

    amazing job!
    I am also sad to see it end. can’t imagine the time you put into this fantastic project but you know that it was very much enjoyed. wonderful and creative work. thank you!

    June 12, 2009 at 11:12 am

  92. See Ya Miss Ya

    June 12, 2009 at 3:04 pm

  93. Thanks for all the pictures, Dan, my kids and I have had so much fun seeing what would come up next. Good luck with the book!

    June 13, 2009 at 11:02 pm

  94. Billy

    i can’t believe it’s been a year already, thank you for enlighening my morning for the past 12 months, time for a haiku: i miss you dearly
    why did you leave?
    i will never know

    June 15, 2009 at 2:01 pm

  95. Madelyn Alvarado

    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I loved the whole year! Thanks for everything, but I’m sooo sad that it’s over.😦

    June 19, 2009 at 1:43 pm

  96. I’m sad to see you are done. Thanks for your creativity and photography skills. We are huge fans! Your site was my 5-year old son’s GO-TO site. Just now, he asked for computer time to see your last pics. We got a lot of laughs. One of my favorites…the Lego guy with the olive stuck on his head. Fun!

    July 1, 2009 at 8:27 pm

  97. thats a book!

    July 8, 2009 at 9:29 am

  98. Very cool 365 theme. I wish I’d found it while you were still shooting it.

    July 12, 2009 at 3:33 am

  99. shawn

    I loved this site…and am so sad not to have it to check back on every day anymore…

    I will definitly buy the book if you make one.

    (100th comment!)

    July 26, 2009 at 2:01 pm

  100. Just found your blog… LOVE the 365 project!! SO fun!

    September 15, 2009 at 8:38 am

  101. I’ve just found and been reading couple of your posts and found this “last post”.So sad. Just wish I’ve found this a year earlier.
    Wonderful posts. Thank you.

    October 12, 2009 at 9:33 pm

  102. DON’T PANIC

    September 26, 2010 at 3:56 pm

  103. Now i have to look for a lego picture blog that is good like this one😦. Great job though.

    Awesome while it lasted.

    – Brickzilla

    February 6, 2011 at 10:13 am

  104. Wait… if this ended in 2009 why is there new posts?

    Did it come back since this post was made? if so “YAY!”

    February 6, 2011 at 10:14 am

    • yes the first year project ended in 2009. I have since started year 2.

      February 6, 2011 at 10:55 am

  105. He started a new one click home at the top of this page.

    February 6, 2011 at 10:56 am

Leave a Reply

