for two years. -less often, now

Day 364

day364

Myself, and almost every LEGO mini-fig in my collection. Couldn’t quite fit them all on there.

I couldn’t waste time messing around either because it was windy out, and it kept swaying the stand I had it on, and knocking the mini-figs off. I couldn’t find a good spot to stand up all the figures, with myself, plus it was windy, and I didn’t want to do it inside.

So I improvised, set the Hotel on a speaker stand on top of a desk out on my back porch, and used my flash for a little fill light to counter the blow out background/sky. It was slightly protected from the wind, but gusts kept knocking the guys off.

It’s not what I envisioned, but it works.

God, my eyes are always so squinty.

For a little more detail, here is a slightly larger version: Here!

32 responses

  1. Don’t end! I look forward to your posts each day. Wow. What a collection.๐Ÿ™‚

    May 30, 2009 at 5:33 pm

  2. Myn McGeek

    Hey, Morbo! Or should I call you Dan?

    Anyway, it’s Myn from GW. I’ve been following this for a while. I have to say, while I didn’t visit every single day, I always went back and looked at all the days I missed when I did drop by. And I always enjoyed it! This blog brightened my day a bit each day I looked. Sometimes it made me smile, sometimes it made me laugh, sometimes it even amazed me. You’re a great artist, I must say. Bravo! And thanks. Thanks for all the time and work you put into this project. =)

    Would you believe I haven’t been online much at all the past few months, and even less the past few weeks, and yet the first day I happen to think about this blog in months is today? Crazy, huh? =D

    Congrats for the completion of a great project! *enthusiastic applause*

    Myn

    P.S. Quit complaining, you look fine.๐Ÿ˜›๐Ÿ˜‰

    May 30, 2009 at 5:47 pm

  3. esther_a

    Gosh, it’s so great to meet the whole family. I feel like I’ve almost got to know those little people! I can remember a few exploits at the hotel, as well.
    Just one more day to go?!

    May 30, 2009 at 5:59 pm

  4. Myn McGeek

    Ah, I just realized I’m a day early. Oh well, it’s for the best really. I doubt I’ll have time to drop by tomorrow anyway. lol

    May 30, 2009 at 6:08 pm

  5. Julie

    Thanks for all the fun!

    May 30, 2009 at 6:20 pm

  6. ve2vfd

    Wow, talk about a grand-finale!

    I want to thank you for a great experience, I really enjoyed following the daily adventures of all your lego-dudes and will miss them in the future.

    I hope you achieved what you were looking for with your 365 project and look forward seeing your future work on P-F.

    Thanks Dan!

    May 30, 2009 at 6:43 pm

  7. Jake J.

    Hmm. Is Henry Jones Sr. one of the guys who got left out?

    May 30, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    • no he is on the left behind the Octan guy, and in front of the guy in red. he got a little hidden – it was hard to get everyone completely visible

      May 30, 2009 at 7:28 pm

  8. What a fun cast party! You look surprisingly normal, even next to a team of Lego dudes.

    It’s been a great 364 days!

    May 30, 2009 at 8:23 pm

  9. Colleen

    well… as much as the anticipation is killing me for the last one, I am NOT looking forward to all of this ending. Your photos, staging, captions, humor and complete genius has been so enjoyable to watch unfold. I never knew how much little colored pieces of plastic could relay in a single image each day. THANK YOU. You really turned some days around for me with your photos. Congratulations!

    May 30, 2009 at 10:25 pm

  10. *standing ovation*

    Dan, an EXTREMELY well carried out project.

    thank you for the laughs๐Ÿ™‚ the blog will be missed.
    you may choose to surprise us, but say, randomly, totally unexpectedly putting up a lego pic or two๐Ÿ™‚

    (flickr is blocked in the UAE, so if you do anything there, you’ll be denying an ardent fan)

    but once again, congratulations. this rocked.

    May 31, 2009 at 2:27 am

  11. rabbit245

    I can really see where they all came in, even the monkey at the top!

    May 31, 2009 at 5:01 am

  12. El Lego de la Colina

    Each one of that minifigs reminds me a lot of good moments…
    Do you have a favourite minifig? I Love hiker…

    May 31, 2009 at 5:19 am

  13. Your blog has been an excellent place to browse. It sure has been an awesome project!

    May 31, 2009 at 6:40 am

  14. LegoMamma

    I will be so sad for your photo project to end! This has been a lot of fun for myself and my 5 year old son to view everyday. Thanks for all of the smiles!

    May 31, 2009 at 7:34 am

  15. Holly

    I am in recovery and your site has brighten more than one really crummy day. I will miss new posts. Maybe you can do a weekly posting? I mean it’s only 52 for an entire year. ;-D

    May 31, 2009 at 8:14 am

  16. Nicky

    Thanks for the groupshot of the figures that kept me entertained for 364 days.๐Ÿ™‚
    Cheers!

    May 31, 2009 at 9:05 am

  17. Your work is awesome, I hope you get a book deal! I love your creativity, inventiveness and the quality of your photos. LEGOs are the perfect playful subject. Congrats on your popularity.
    -Lucy

    May 31, 2009 at 10:40 am

  18. edumirome

    wow i been followin your blog since 2 month its incredible the pictures, the humor everthing is cool and now its only one day left

    May 31, 2009 at 10:58 am

  19. Hello,

    thanks for this great project! It was a lot of fun viewing your pictures every day!

    Greetings from Germany!

    daponte

    May 31, 2009 at 4:33 pm

  20. My 5 year old and I have loved checking in with your site each morning to see your new photos. We’ll miss this!

    May 31, 2009 at 8:12 pm

  21. labmom

    Today would be a really great day to announe that you’ve decided to continue on for another year๐Ÿ™‚
    I will so miss your little guys, your amazing photography, and your sense of humor. Great job–we will miss you!

    May 31, 2009 at 8:34 pm

  22. Thank you for a fabulous blog. I have loved looking for the newest pic everyday. And so have my 3 daughters. Thanks again.

    May 31, 2009 at 8:45 pm

  23. LEGO Dog

    Is this like the final bow before the final curtain goes down? I will miss your 365 and I’m guessing tomorrow will be some kind of fireworks. It’s nice to see all of the kids. It’s nice to finally see the man behind the lens too. See you tomorrow Dan.

    May 31, 2009 at 10:19 pm

  24. VixenVena

    Your eyes are lovely, silly!

    I’m so sad to see that Day 365 is just around the corner. Your Lego Men have been a great joy every day and I’ll be so sad to see this end! By the way, the Lego Man whose pants just walked away is absolutely hilarious and I STILL laugh thinking about that!

    May 31, 2009 at 10:45 pm

  25. dawn in colorado

    Wow…what can I say that hasn’t already been said! Thank you Dan for the good times! I myself a lego player (at 51 yrs young) love all the pics. I’m looking forward to seeing the book when it comes out.
    Just a thought – How long will your site be up to view with all of your 365 days? It’s been fun going back and seeing which ones really made my day๐Ÿ™‚
    Enjoy your time off – You’ve done great!!!

    May 31, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    • the site should be up for a long time. i may use it for other stuff eventually!

      THANK YOU!!!

      May 31, 2009 at 11:22 pm

  26. Kerry

    Aw man. Sad to see it come to an end. Good luck on the book! If it happens, I’ll be buying!

    June 2, 2009 at 2:07 pm

  27. We sooooooooo enjoyed sharing this journey with you. My 4 children would huddle around me to view page after page.

    Hope your shopping a book publisher for this….I’d buy it!

    June 3, 2009 at 5:17 pm

  28. Excellent project! Thank you so much!

    June 10, 2009 at 7:25 pm

  29. hahah, legos are the best!

    June 16, 2009 at 1:39 pm

  30. Ash

    REally enjoyed that. This is true passion

    June 16, 2009 at 5:30 pm

Leave a Reply

