for two years. -less often, now

Day 279

Today at school we received sad news that last night one of our students lost his battle with neuroblastoma.  He would have been in 1st grade this year. I wish to respect the privacy and feelings of the family and not go into any more detail here. I’m new to the school this year, and while I never knew the child, and do not know the family, the impact of this event was felt quite heavily throughout the staff and the students that did. It also affected me in a way I did not expect.

There currently is no cure for neuroblastoma, and treatments for this form of childhood cancer are not as actively being sought as the “patient base” is not large enough to be profitable to drug companies.

To learn more about neuroblastoma, you can visit here: American Cancer Society

Band Of Parents is a not-for-profit charity whose members are the parents and families of those diagnosed with neuroblastoma. To donate money, or learn more, please visit their site.

day279God rest.

5 responses

  1. yellowscuba

    I am so sorry to hear this; what a tragedy. It is very kind of you to honor this little boy on your site. I work in the public schools as well, and whether you know a child you passes or not, it always feels horrible.

    Failing to do research because of a small patient base sounds disgraceful to me. A life is a life. My sympathies to your school community and this child’s family.

    March 7, 2009 at 12:02 pm

  2. I feel your pain, and I’ve watched the middle child of friends of mine undergo treatment for childhood lukemia. Kudos for using your blog to help foster awareness, and raise money. I’m sure you’ll inspire many others to give their time, money and prayer.

    March 7, 2009 at 5:01 pm

  3. Thanks for sharing this with us. I hate cancer of all sorts–especially as I have lost a lifetime best friend to leukemia. I’m with you–I do what I can to help the effort. If my meager contributions can make a difference, that’s what I want to do.

    March 7, 2009 at 9:17 pm

  4. Barry

    My thoughts go out to the boy’s family.

    Nice of you to honor him with a very touching picture.

    On a less important note: love your work🙂

    March 10, 2009 at 3:37 am

  5. Madelyn Alvarado

    That is the saddest thing I’ve heard on a blog! Sorry,sorry,sorry.:(

    March 26, 2009 at 11:32 am

Leave a Reply

