for two years. -less often, now

ruh-roh

Today is a sad day in Dan’s world of geekdom.

My five and a half year old 15″ Powerbook G4 Titanium, in all it’s glory, has passed on to a better place.

It all started with an uncomfortable whirring noise, and random grinding sounds. Last night, more of the same. This morning, the clicks of death from the hard drive. And then, about 30 minutes ago, she locked up, clicked furiously, whirled with the sound of a jet engine, and couldn’t go on. Now, she won’t even boot.

Let us take a moment to reflect on this magnificent piece of technology, without which, much of this project would not have been possible. (It’s what I used all summer while I was home in NY away from my iMac! – and every time I travel)

So, since I am actually in NY this weekend, I won’t be able to post any pictures. I’m typing this from my parents old crappy computer (733mhz Pentium 3 – say what?!) and it doesn’t have the software necessary. So I’m sorry everyone, but I won’t be able to post pics from Friday, today, or Sunday until either Sunday night, or maybe Monday.

So long Powerbook. You’ve been a great friend. I salute you!

And remember, the force will be with you, always.

10 responses

  1. I am feeling your pain. I have a 17″ MacBook Pro and would not know what I would do if something happened to her (Penelope). Seriously…she’s my only computer.

    I love your blog and the idea behind it. I am going to post a link back to your blog on my photoblog. I appreciate anyone who is also attempting to post a picture a day!

    January 31, 2009 at 8:24 pm

  2. aaawwww…. rip. 5 1/2 yrs is a nice ripe ol’ age. she’ll be missed. ;p

    February 1, 2009 at 10:29 am

  3. Oh…I’m sorry for your loss. I know the G4 is irreplaceable, but I’m sure one of the new MBPs will love you just as much. I’m looking to load my workspace with a new iMac and MBP myself. They’re the best. Ever.

    February 1, 2009 at 2:39 pm

  4. Socketvox

    Dude, sounds like it’s just the hard disk. Get it replaced and bam – working Mac again.

    It’s worth a shot I would think – unless you want to upgrade…

    February 1, 2009 at 6:01 pm

  5. i may try to replace it myself – i will see what the apple store says.

    February 1, 2009 at 8:48 pm

  6. Jarsh

    My G4 is over 4 and a half hears old. She’ll be five in April. Hopefully I can get 5 and a half out of her.

    RIP Dan’s Powerbook

    February 2, 2009 at 7:51 am

  7. LEGO Dog

    Oh no, I am starting to feel worried now. Our 2 G4 feel like their old enough to vote, guess we better start saving now…
    Hope you get back soon😀

    February 2, 2009 at 6:48 pm

  8. It’s ok, my 20″ iMac is my primary computer. The Powerbook was just my portable. So as long as I’m home, I’m good to go!
    If only I could get LEGO to buy me a new laptop😉 (HINT HINT LEGO!!)

    February 2, 2009 at 8:39 pm

  9. Ryan

    Let us know what you upgrade to!

    February 2, 2009 at 10:41 pm

  10. PC....

    Don’t cry… it’s just a mac!

    February 5, 2009 at 6:11 am

Leave a Reply

